T20 world cup will be held in UAE BCCI made an official announcement | BCCI shifted tournament to UAE due to Corona, Secretary Jay Shah said – ICC will be informed about the decision today

New Delhi35 minutes ago

  • copy link

The BCCI officials talked among themselves through a conference call on Monday and decided to hold the World Cup in the UAE.

The next T20 World Cup is set to be held in UAE. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has made an official announcement on Monday. Board secretary Jay Shah said, “We have considered all aspects and have decided to shift the World Cup to the UAE. ICC will be informed about this decision today itself. On Monday, the Indian board had the last day to decide about the World Cup.

ICC will decide the date
Jay Shah said that the date of the matches of the World Cup is to be decided by the ICC. It is believed that the final of IPL will be played on October 15 and after a few days the World Cup would start. IPL-2021 had to be postponed after 29 matches due to Corona epidemic. Its second phase will now be played in the UAE. The second phase is likely to start from September 19.

Decision made through conference call
Rajeev Shukla, Vice President of the Board of India said that all the officers of the Board were discussed through conference call on Monday. After this it was decided that the World Cup would be held in the UAE itself.

T20 World Cup may be held from October 17
According to the cricket website ESPN Cricinfo, this year both the remaining matches of the IPL and the T20 World Cup after that can be held in the UAE. IPL can be held from 19 September to 15 October. A day after this i.e. from October 17, the T20 World Cup can be played. The title match of this 16-team tournament can be held on November 14.

Some matches of the preliminary round may be held in Oman
According to the plan, the first round of the T20 World Cup will be played between 8 teams in two groups. There will be 12 matches in this. Out of these 4 teams (Top-2 teams of both the groups) will qualify for Super-12. These 8 teams are Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman and Papua New Guinea. The matches of both these groups can be held in UAE and Oman.

Super-12 will have 30 matches
The Super-12 round is likely to start from October 24. In this round there will be 12 teams in 2 groups, which will play a total of 30 matches. All these matches can be played in three venues Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah. Four of the 12 teams will be the first round qualifiers and the rest will be the top-8 teams in the ICC World Rankings. This will be followed by three playoff matches, with two semi-finals and one final.

There is more news…

Leave a Comment