opposition announces to boycott rajyasabha till suspension of MPs is revoked farm bills protest – we will boycott Rajya Sabha till suspension of MPs: Opposition

AdvertisementAmazon Great Indian Sale Banner

new Delhi:

The opposition has announced a boycott of the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday, with a request to withdraw the suspension of the MPs suspended from the Rajya Sabha on Monday. Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said that until the suspension of these MPs is withdrawn, the opposition will not participate in the proceedings of Rajya Sabha. Let us know that since Sunday's uproar, eight MPs were suspended, who have been sitting on a dharna in the Parliament complex since yesterday.

Also read

Leader of Opposition Azad met these suspended MPs on Tuesday and after that put forth their demands. He said that 'We have made three important demands on behalf of the Congress party in the Rajya Sabha: The first demand is that the government should bring a new bill to ensure that no private company can buy any produce from farmers under MSP. Our second demand is that the MSP should be fixed in the country under the Swaminathan formula. Our third demand is that the Government of India, the State Government or the Food Corporation of India should ensure that their produce is purchased from the farmers at the prescribed MSP rate. Till these three demands are considered, we will boycott the proceedings of the House.

He further said, "The fourth important thing that I have said in the Rajya Sabha is that we have requested that the suspension of the eight MPs who have been suspended should be withdrawn but this is a request not our demand." Azad said that it seems that there is lack of coordination within the government. A day before, the entire discussion on agricultural bills was focused on the MSP and a day after that the government announced the MSP for many crops.

Explain that eight members of the opposition, including Trinamool Congress' Derek O'Brien and AAP's Sanjay Singh, were suspended for the remaining period of the monsoon session on Monday for conduct in the House. Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs V Muralitharan on Sunday moved a resolution to suspend eight members of the opposition for the remaining time of the current session over the uproar in the uproar during the discussion on the agricultural bills, which was cleared by the House by voice. Granted The suspended members include Rajiv Satav of the Congress, Syed Nazir Hussain and Ripun Bora, Trinamool's Brian and Dola Sen, CPM's KK Ragesh and Ilaram Karim and AAP's Sanjay Singh.

AdvertisementAmazon Great Indian Sale Banner


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here