- Hindi News
- India Vs New Zealand World Test Championship Final: Controversy On Umpire Review On Virat Kohli’s Catch | Umpire Richard Illingworth
southampton7 minutes ago
- copy link
In the World Test Championship final being played between India and New Zealand in Southampton, a controversy has erupted after Virat Kohli took umpire review during his batting. Actually, the 5th ball of the 41st over of the Indian innings came out of Kohli’s bat and went into the hand of the wicketkeeper. Bowler Trent Boult and the Kiwis appealed, on which umpire Richard Illingworth made no decision.
On this New Zealand captain Williamson wanted to take DRS, when Illingworth told him that I have taken the umpire review. Virat looked angry at this decision of the umpire. However, Kohli was given not out in the review.
According to the rules, umpire review can be taken in a match only if the catch taken by the player is not clear. Whereas in the match it was clearly seen that the wicketkeeper had caught the ball cleanly. In such a situation, the legends of cricket have considered taking this review of the umpire against the rule. Commentator VVS Laxman said Illingworth’s decision was wrong.