Gujarat Municipal Election 2021: Voting for 6 Gujarat Local Body Polls Continue – Voting for the election of six municipal corporations in Gujarat continues, Amit Shah also arrived to cast his vote.


Gujarat Municipal Election: Amit Shah casting vote at a booth in Naranpura area of ​​Ahmedabad


Gujarat Municipal Election 2021: COVID-19 Coronavirus Pandemic On Sunday amid tight security Six Municipal Corporations in Gujarat (Gujarat Local Body Election) Voting is going on for the election of. Voting began at seven in the morning in various wards of the six municipal corporations of Ahmedabad, Vadodara, Surat, Rajkot, Jamnagar and Bhavnagar, soon after which people appeared in queues outside the polling stations. Voting will continue till 5 pm. Elder voters were also seen at various booths in the morning, where people were seen following the Kovid-19 prevention norms, including the use of masks and sanitizers and maintaining social distance.

Also read

Read Also: Night curfew extended to 28 cities in 4 cities of Gujarat

Local MPs, MLAs and leaders of various political parties also reached various polling stations to vote in the morning. Among those who cast votes in the early hours were BJP MP Kirit Solanki and party MLA Rakesh Shah. Solanki along with his wife and family members voted at a booth in Ranip area of ​​Ahmedabad, while Shah cast his vote at a booth in Ellisbridge area of ​​the city. Union Home Minister Amit Shah also reached a booth in Naranpura area of ​​Ahmedabad to cast his vote with the family.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani is also likely to vote in his hometown Rajkot, who was found infected with the Corona virus during an election campaign a few days ago. The main contest in these elections is between the BJP and the main opposition Congress. The BJP has ruled these six municipal corporations for the last several terms. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has claimed that it will be an effective alternative to the BJP and the Congress, while Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is contesting the local body elections for the first time. Officials said that about 32,000 policemen have been deployed to vote in 575 seats. There are four councilors in each ward.


Read Also: Gujarat riot victim joins AIMIM, accuses Congress

A total of 2,276 candidates are contesting in six municipal corporations. Apart from this, nine candidates are also in the fray for the by-elections in two seats in Junagadh Municipal Corporation. Those contesting elections include 577 from BJP, 566 from Congress, 470 from AAP, 91 from NCP, 353 from other parties and 228 independents. According to the State Election Commission, there are a total of 1.14 crore voters, including 60.60 lakh men and 54.06 lakh women. Of the 11,121 polling stations, 2,255 have been marked as sensitive and 1,188 as highly sensitive. The counting of votes will take place on 23 February.

(This news has not been edited by the NewsBust team. It is published directly from the Syndicate feed.)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here