Election Commission gives notice to BJP leader Shubhendu Adhikari, seeks reply on statement given in Nandigram


West Bengal Assembly Election 2021:

New Delhi:

Election commission Has issued a notice to West Bengal BJP leader Shubhendu Adhikari for allegedly having communal tone in one of his speeches last month. They have been asked to respond to the notice within 24 hours.
Shubhendu Adhikari of West Bengal Nandigram Assembly Seat Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee There are also BJP candidates against. Polling has been completed for Nandigram seat. Three phases of elections have been held in Bengal, while 5 phases of voting are yet to be held in Bengal assembly elections.

Also read

The Muslim vote bank also seems to have gone out of Mamata Banerjee’s hand: PM Narendra Modi

The Election Commission notice states that a complaint has come from Kavita Krishnan, a member of the Central Committee of the CPI (ML). It alleged that on March 29, the officer gave a ‘hate speech’ while addressing a rally in Nandigram. The Commission cited two provisions of the Model Code of Conduct. One provision states that criticism of other political parties will be limited to their policies and programs, past records and work.

Criticizing other parties or their workers on the basis of unverified allegations or fabricated allegations will be avoided. In the second provision, it is clear that no appeal will be made on the basis of caste or sect to get votes. The notice has said that the Election Commission has found that some provisions of the model code of conduct have been violated.

On the other hand, Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has reacted to the statement from the Election Commission on the statement urging the Muslim voters to unite. Mamta Banerjee has said that she will continue to raise her voice against any attempt to divide voters on communal basis and if the Election Commission wants to send 10 show cause notices to her, it will not change her stand.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here