Ben Stokes named Wisden Cricketer of the year, five others get mention

By: Sports Desk |

Published: April 8, 2020 2:07:39 pm

Ben Stokes celebrates after hitting the winning runs in the Headingley Test (File Photo/AP)

Ben Stokes has been named as the ‘Cricketer of the Year’ by Wisden in its 157th Almanack. Stokes breaks an uninterrupted run by Virat Kohli of winning this honour for the last three years.

Stokes is the second England player to win this award in its 17-year history after Andrew Flintoff. Stokes has enjoyed his greatest year in international cricket in 2019/20 – the two of his biggest contributions being his knock in the ODI World Cup final and then in the Headingley Ashes Test, where he pulled off a heist along with No.11 Jack Leach.

Five other cricketers have been named as Cricketers of the Year – Jofra Archer, Pat Cummins, Marnus Labuschagne, Ellyse Perry and Simon Harmer.

While Archer has proved to be a phenomenon for England in the ODI World Cup and in Test cricket since then, has enjoyed a breakthrough year. The three Australians – Cummins, Labuschagne and Perry – all played crucial hands in helping the men’s and women’s Australian teams retain the Ashes urn on British soil.

Simon Harmer, the South African who spun Essex to their second Championship title in three years, joins them.

Writing in his notes the Wisden editor, Lawrence Booth, says: “Every so often, an England cricketer joins the national conversation. First among equals is WG Grace, because he put the sport on the map. But others have kept it there: Hobbs, Hutton, Compton, Botham, Flintoff, Pietersen and now Stokes. Of the three modern all-rounders, Stokes can be the greatest.”

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

© IE Online Media Services Pvt Ltd

Leave a Comment